A week of gluten free living

I’ve made it an entire week without gluten.  I have probably consumed tiny amounts on accident, but I’ve tried being very careful over the last week and have inspected every item before eating it to make sure it doesn’t include any gluten.  And….  I feel better.  I’m no longer suffering after every meal.  So, that’s a huge improvement.  I’ll have to keep up with this and see how it goes, but, for the first week at least, going gluten free has been worth it.  Plus, lucky for me, I live near a PCC, which has some pretty delicious gluten-free baked goods.  I was even able to eat a sandwich last night, using gluten free bread, and it was delicious.  Ike and I had pizza the other night on a gluten-free crust and I didn’t even miss the gluten!  Eating out is a bit of a pain, but as long as I do some internet research before I go, it’s been fine so far.  Of course, it has only been a week… Shopping for a gluten-free wedding cake may prove to be a bit of pain, but oh well.

My mom and I went wedding dress shopping on Sunday at Belltown Bride.  This was my fourth trip to try on different wedding dresses.  I had been feeling quite discouraged, thinking that I’d never find a dress that I really liked.  I’d even considered just making my own dress.  But, about half way through the 2-hour appointment, I found THE dress.  It’s absolutely perfect and I love it.  I never thought I’d be this excited about a dress, but man.  I cannot wait to wear it!

This is the dress (from the photo on the designer’s website: http://www.amykuschel.com/gowns/lucky):

Yay!

Now, I just have to go about hiring a caterer. And a florist.  And someone to bring in the linens and such. And find Ike a suit.  And get wedding bands…  *sigh*  That list never seems to get any shorter…

 

One thought on “A week of gluten free living

  1. Congrats on your upcoming wedding!

    I know of three gluten free bakeries (one in Kent, one in Sumner, and one in Puyallup) that do wedding cakes. If you would like their info, just let me know. I also know of a couple of restaurants that may be able to help you in the catering department. The bakeries may be able to do some or all of the catering, too.

    My family has been gluten free since 2001. I wrote a book in 2009 about our journey going off of the gluten and how we have lived gluten free since.

    Please contact me with your address so I can mail you a copy of my book as my gift to you for your wedding!

    ~Adrienne

    Like

Leave a Reply

