rambling thoughts

In January, I was complaining about not having enough work to do.  I had lots of free time, so buying a house right then sounded like a fantastic idea.  We found the house, put in the offer, and got the house.  (We’re supposed to close this week!)  So, of course, I’ve been absolutely swamped since the middle of February.  As soon as it’s time to pack and do the necessary renovations on the house (which are quite minor, but I still am determined to complete them before we move in), I have absolutely no time.  I was billing until after midnight last night and expect to be doing the same again today.  I definitely prefer to be busy, but now is one of the few times I’d prefer not to be busy…  It’d be wonderful to relax during my birthday week and have time to paint and pack, but I guess that’s not what is in store for me this year!

So, somehow, this week, I need to pack, clean the apartment, sign all of the closing documents, start painting the house, AND review 23,713 more documents which need to be produced to a government agency as soon as possible. And I’m supposed to run a 4 mile race on Saturday, for which I’m absolutely not in shape…  Oh, and it’d be nice to celebrate my birthday at some point in there, too!  But, at least I won’t be bored!

I’m finally starting to feel like I have a vague notion of what I’m doing as an attorney, so that’s definitely a plus.  I have to say, even having had 40,000 discovery documents to review over the last couple of weeks, I love my job.  I love being an attorney and I’m really glad this is the career path I’ve decided to pursue.  Hopefully, after six years in the profession, I’ll still love it as much as I do at six months.

As I approach my last birthday in my 20s, I realize just how amazing this decade has been, and I eagerly look forward to the next one.  I have never worried about getting older, probably because I’ve always felt older than my age anyway.  Each birthday, I feel like I’m getting closer to the age I’m supposed to be.  In the past year, I’ve lived in France, graduated from law school, passed the bar exam, started work as an attorney, gotten engaged, and purchased a house.  It’s been a wild ride and I can’t wait to see what is to come!  As soon as we get settled in the house, I guess I’ll have to start planning for the next adventure (that wedding date is getting closer and closer!).

Also, it’s snowing.  In Seattle.  In March.  Because moving isn’t hard enough when the weather *is* cooperating…

Leave a Reply

