Home ownership?!

Ike and I have been considering buying a house when our lease ends (in May). So, I started frequently (obsessively) checking the Redfin.com listings to see what types of houses were available. We picked a couple of neighborhoods in the Emerald City in which we wanted to live and I searched, and searched, and searched. We also got connected with a fantastic real estate agent (contact me if you want her info), and the house hunting began!

We didn’t plan on buying anything too quickly, waiting until closer to when our lease ended so that we could move at just the right time. However, quickly into our search, I found the perfect house! We continued looking at houses, but I kept thinking of THE house. It took me a little bit of time to convince Isaac that this was, in fact, THE house, in THE perfect neighborhood, but after a few weeks of talking about it, I finally had him convinced!

So, we decided to go ahead and make an offer. I’ve never purchased a house before, so I didn’t know how long the offer process would take. It turns out, the offer process can be extremely quick!! We made an offer on Friday, they counter-offered that evening, we counter-offered right back at them, and then they accepted our counter-offer on Saturday morning! Less than 24 hours of negotiation later, and we had ourselves a house!

THE house.

Isn’t it wonderful?  It’s a 1926 Tudor house and I’m madly in love with it.  Madly.  We have inspections scheduled for this week and we have until Friday to make sure that the financing is all in place.  Provided those things go smoothly, we may move in as early as March 15!  Eeeks!  I’m so excited.  This is as exciting as finding out I passed the bar!  I can’t wait to start decorating and making it mine ours.

Leave a Reply

