Isaac’s last day…

Phew.  This is the last post in the series on Isaac’s European adventure.  I’d say you’re probably all sick of hearing about him, but you’re probably just as sick of hearing about C² so at least this has been a break of me talking ad nauseum about them!  🙂

Okay, after our day of skiing, Isaac had one last day to spend in Lyon before heading back to Geneva and then flying home.  We lucked out and had awesome weather so we decided to spend the day outside.  I had been meaning to go to the Parc Tête d’Or, a large park in Lyon (in fact the largest park in all of France), but I hadn’t yet gotten there.  So, Isaac and I decided to find it and have a picnic.  We headed out, walked to the river and then walked north along the river.

Restaurants along the river bank.

I just discovered (after almost three months in France) that there are a ton of restaurants along the river in Lyon – I’m going to have to visit at least one of these before I head home.  Hopefully, the weather will stay nice.

After a very long walk, we finally found the park.

Inside the grand gates of the park.

We enjoyed a nice picnic of mediocre sandwiches in the cool yet sunny weather and then ventured around the park in search of the zoo.  I had heard that there was a zoo inside the park, so I was determined to find it.

Exploring the small island in the middle of the lake inside the park.

First, we wandered down some stairs into a tunnel and emerged on an island in the middle of the lake in the middle of the park.  The island contains a couple of monuments dedicated to the French who lost their lives fighting for France in various wars.

One of the monuments.

Monument dedicated to the French who lost their lives in wars between the 50s and 60s.

After exploring the island, we wandered back to the main part of the park and took in the beautiful sights.

A river in the park.

Along the lake.

Finally, we found the zoo, which it turns out is free!  I was quite surprised that we could go enjoy the animals without having to pay anything.

Mr. Giraffe.

There was a nice “African plains” exhibit with giraffe, watusis (my favorite name of an animal), antelope and various other animals wandering freely amongst themselves.

Flamingoe!

The flamingos appeared to be quite upset about something, as they were squawking and flapping their wings.  They were pretty to look at, though.  Reminds me of the zoo in Alexandria, Louisiana right down the street from where my mom and I used to live.

Turtles from Florida... in France.

They had a ton of turtles that they said were from Florida.  I didn’t read the sign, but I wonder if they are there because of the oil spill?  I just thought it was interesting to have all of these turtles from the U.S. in the middle of a French zoo.

Reindeer.

Lastly, we saw the reindeer before heading home.  They had quite a few, so I can only assume this is where Santa’s helpers go in the off season.  🙂

After visiting the zoo, we wandered home, ate some left overs for dinner and called it a night.  Isaac had to catch a 6:30am train in order to get to Geneva to catch his flight home.  Fortunately, his flight home went much better than his flight to Europe, though he did cause quite the stir at the airport when they thought his iPod in his carry on was some sort of detonator.  Ha!  He says he was stuck at security for half an hour trying to get that sorted out.  Good thing he had tons of time when he arrived at the airport.  Poor guy.

Anyway, I had a wonderful time exploring Switzerland and France with Isaac.  I wish he had been able to stay longer, but we crammed as much in as we possibly could!

I am flying to Edinburgh, Scotland a week from yesterday for a brief visit and then will be flying home two weeks from yesterday.  My time here is really coming to a close!  I’ll be home and seeing all of your smiling faces before you know it.  Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

